Napoleon's Triumph
(Simmons Games)

Battle Cards Variant

Napoleon's Triumph from Simmon's Games is truly a masterpiece game, both in artwork, presentation
and game concepts. The battle mechanics, with the no luck combat system is excellent and works
extremely well. This variant adds an additional element of uncertainty to the combat system without
compromising the basic "no-luck"/"non-randomness" mechanics of the game. Battle Cards also add an
extra amount of historical constraint to the system, which serves to provide some flavour to the Corps
Commanders provided in the game.

The Battle Cards
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Start

At the start of the game, the cards are divided in to two decks; Allied cards and French cards. Each
player is dealt 5 cards each from their own decks. A player may hold no more than 5 cards in his hand at
any one time.

Players keep a draw deck and a discard deck, both of which are always face down. Indicate the draw
deck by placing a spare marker on it's top card. Neither player may ever examine the contents of their
own nor their opponent's draw deck nor discard deck. (You must remember your own discards).

The French deck has the 6 reinforcement cards (Davout and Bernadotte) removed from the deck before
being dealt his 5 cards. These cards remain out of play until and if the French reinforcements are
brought into play. At the start of the turn in which French reinforcements arrive, these cards are shuffled
back into the French draw deck.

The Allied player is allowed to discard one card at a time and keep drawing cards until he holds at least
one Austrian card (gray background). All such discards are played face down and reshuftled into the
deck.

Play
The play of Battle Cards is always optional for both players.

At the start of a player's turn he may draw as many cards from his draw pile to replenish his hand back to
his 5 card limit. At the conclusion of a player's turn, he may optionally discard 1 card from his hand into
his discard pile. This card may not be replaced until the beginning of his next turn.

Battle Cards are played during combat and add to the overall combat strength of the side playing the
card. Cards are played for individual battles and only effect the outcome of that one battle. Only one
card may be played by each side for a single battle. A card played prior to the initial combat strengths
being calculated affects both the initial and final combat strength for that side. A card played in a
counter-attack only effects the final combat strength.

The procedure for playing cards is as follows:

1) The attacker selects a card and plays it face down in front of him when he declares an attack
threat.

2) The defender may play a card after the attacker declares a threat, whether or not the attacker
played a card. The defender's card is not played if the defender chooses to retreat before
combat. If the defender does retreat before combat, the attacker may return his played card to
his hand (or discard it).

3) If the attacker feints, both attacker and defender cards are returned to the player's hand (or
optionally discarded by the owner). If the attack is not a feint then both cards are revealed when
the lead unit for each is identified. The attacker's played card is added into the attacker's initial
and final combat strength, and the defender's played card is added into the defender’s initial and
final combat strength.

There are restrictions on what kind of cards can be played in a given battle situation - see below.

4) If either side does not play a card for the initial combat strength calculation, they may play a
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card if the defender elects to counter-attack. Such played cards are added into the
corresponding side's final combat strength calculation. For a counter-attack the defender
declares the counter-attack but before revealing the strength of the units counter-attacking plays
a card face down (or states that he is not playing a battle card).

5) The attacker has the option to play a card (assuming he did not initially play one), after the
defender exercises his counter-attack card option. Once both player have the played their cards
(or not), the counter-attack is resolved normally with battle card values being added into the
corresponding side's final combat strength.

At the conclusion of a battle, all cards played are discarded to the discard pile. Optionally, any zero
strength battle cards played may be returned to the owning player's hand.

Battle cards never augment the combat strength for a side if the lead unit (attack or defense) is an
artillery unit. A card may be played in such a case but is returned to the owner’s hand (not discarded, nor
optionally discarded), without being revealed.

For either attack or defense, and whether played initially or as part of a counter-attack, the side playing a
card must have and declare a lead unit.

Battle cards are NOT figured into the final combat strength of either side, IF the battle victor is
independent of the cards value. That is, battle cards cannot be added in simply to inflict more casualties
on the defeated side. When this rule is invoked, both the attacker and defender's cards are affected.
however all cards played are still discarded at the conclusion of the battle (exc: zero value cards -
owner's option).

The following additional restrictions apply to playing battle cards.

1) The Corps Commander listed on the card played must be in the battle locale; attacker locale for
attack commander, defense locale for the defending commander. The commander does not
necessarily have to take part in the attack or defense, nor does the lead unit need to be attached
to that commander's corps, however the lead unit may NOT be attached to some other
commander's corps. (i.e. the lead unit may either be a detached unit or attached to the corps
commander named on the played battle card).

2) When more then 1 corps is involved in an attack or defense, the same restriction applies;
namely that the lead unit must be attached to the corps commander named on the battle card or
be a detached unit.

3) Imperial Guard commander cards (Russian, French) may only be used for units attached to the
Imperial Guard Corps commanders (Constantine, Bessiers). These units do not necessarily
have to be guard units. These cards cannot be played on detached units as the lead unit.

4) Cavalry commanders (Murat, Liechtenstein) may only be used when the lead unit is a cavalry
unit AND attached to the commander's corps or a detached cavalry unit. Cavalry units may be
commanded by other commanders, but the cavalry battle cards may only be played as restricted
by this rule.

Battle cards played that are ineligible for the given situation (e.g. a cavalry card played with an infantry
unit designated as the lead unit), is disqualified for the remainder of the current player's turn (attacker or
defender). Set the illegally played card aside until the end of the player's turn after which time it is
returned to the owning player's hand (prior to making his end of turn discard if it is the attacking player's
card).




